Mind Over Body

Road running over Easter was difficult I was constantly battling myself. Mind over matter… Mind over body, is sometimes a difficult trait to conquer. If my legs were not throbbing, I was falling over. It was almost as if my confidence in my running ability was failing me. However, I refuse to let myself dwell on this thought.

Nevertheless, I still ran that is what is important. They were not perfect runs. However, I am still trying and that is all that matters to me.

I realised this week as I ran on the treadmill that I find it boring. I was edgy. I was not going anywhere. I was running in the same stop staring at the TV in front of me or at blurry figures around me at the gym. I missed being outside. I missed the random things that I see. I missed the haphazard conversations I had with myself. However, I guess what I missed the most was the feeling of quietness my mind reaches.  The rhythm from running settles my obsessive thoughts.

My second running target is still out in the cosmos. I am still 2km off my 5km target. What I am feeling right now? I think those remaining 2km seem hard. However, I will achieve it I am too stubborn not too. Mind over body, mind over body that is what I have to remember.

“Now if you are going to win any battle you have to do one thing. You have to make the mind run the body. Never let the body tell the mind what to do. The body will always give up. It is always tired morning, noon, and night. But the body is never tired if the mind is not tired. When you were younger the mind could make you dance all night, and the body was never tired… You’ve got to make the mind take over and keep going.” – George S. Patton, U.S. Army General and 1912 Olympian.

Leave a Reply

