Morning Run = Raging Battle

Last night I made the decision I would go for a run in the morning. As on Wednesday, we have a team meeting and they never end on time. And I knew it would be too dark to run when I got home, so the only solution was a run in the morning.

As I did a mental check of my exercise gear I turn off my light knowing tomorrow morning would be here soon enough..

BUUUUUUUZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ… Oh my god are you serious I swear my alarm gets louder when I ignore…

5:30am rise and shine get up Emma mmmm just another 5 minutes…
5:40am peering at the window mmmm still too darkish.. Oh who are you kidding Emma that is light enough get UP….I’ll just wait another 5 minutes…
Oh would you look at that it 5:45am come on get up… fight ensues with the bed sheets and doona.
5.47am Come on Emma move your patootie..
5:50am One leg and arm dangling over the side of the bed… Nah that feels cold. Pull leg and arm back under the doona.
5:52am Screaming at myself to get up.
5:55am Oh look if I close one eye I cannot see my trainers at the door.. I am going to pretend their not there.
5:56am Flip flop on to stomach and back a few times at the thought of getting up.
5:58am Deep sigh…really need to get up. God those trainers are mocking me…
6:00am Sigh I am up… Stumble to the bathroom. Need to get dress…
6:15am Unbelievable it just took me 15 minutes to get change in to my exercise gear… Okay cue RunKeeper and I am off!!!

I was dressed in my long sleeve running shirt, within a couple of minutes of running I wanted to strip it off I was hot and uncomfortable. Yeah not my brightest move really not cold enough yet to be wearing long sleeve shirt. I admit it was not the best run but I still manage to get up this morning and go…Perhaps next time I’ll get up in time. Oh who am I kidding no doubt the same battle will rage in my head.

“I don’t think jogging is healthy, especially morning jogging.  If morning joggers knew how tempting they looked to morning motorists, they would stay home and do sit-ups.” – Rita Rudner

Leave a Reply

